How do I set up an appointment with Advanced Medical Associates?
To set up an appointment, please contact the office at 734-347-2127.
What medical conditions are considered medical marijuana conditions?
Patients must suffer from a debilitating medical condition, defined as:
- Cancer, glaucoma or positive status for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV),acquired immune deficiency syndrome(AIDS), hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Crohn’s disease, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease or nail patella.
- A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces one of more of the following:
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome;
- Severe or chronic pain;
- Severe nausea;
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder;
- Seizures, including but not limited to those caused by epilepsy; or
- Severe or persistent muscle spasms, including but not condition that is defined as chronic and debilitating; or
- Any other medical condition or treatment for a medical condition that is defined as chronic or debilitating.
Why do I need to have a physician sign and date an ‘’Attending Physician’s Statement” form? Why can’t I just provide my medical records?
According to the Michigan Medical Marijuana Act (MMMA), a physician must state in writing that the patient has a qualifying debilitating medical condition and that medical marijuana may mitigate the symptoms or effects of that condition.
What medical documentation should I bring?
We ask that you bring current records regarding your medically-certifiable condition.
How can I obtain my medical records?
Call your physician or the hospital where you received treatment and tell them you need copies of your medical records. They will tell you the process for obtaining your medical records and usually will have you sign an authorization from to release the records.
Do I need to be referred to Advanced Medical Associates by another physician?
What exactly do I get if I receive a certification from Advanced Medical Associates?
A qualified patient with the required medical marijuana documents will receive a signed State Certification form that allows them to apply for the Medical Marijuana Identification Card from the State of Michigan with the approval of your treating physician(s).
How long will the certification last?
Certifications are valid for two years after your medical marijuana registration is approved. Approximately 60 days before your expiration date, contact our office to renew.
What happens to my application after I mail it?
The MMMP has 15 day to review your medical marijuana application to make sure it is complete. If approved, your medical marijuana registration identification card will be issued within 5 days.
How do I register as a medical marijuana patient with the state?
‘’Qualifying patients’’ must register with the Michigan Department of Community Health Bureau of Health Professions, P.O. Box 3067, Lansing, MI 48909.
To register, the patient must submit the following information via the Registry Form:
- An application or renewal fee;
- The name , address and birth date of the qualifying patient;
- The name , address and telephone number of the qualifying patient’s physician;
- The name, address and birth date of the qualifying patient’s caregiver, if any;
- Written and signed document by the physician that the person is a qualifying patient.
Where can I get the Michigan Medical Marijuana Registry Form?
On our Form pages you will find a link to the Michigan Medical Marijuana registry form.
Will my insurance company cover the certification process, consultation or medical marijuana application?
What is the cost to apply for a medical marijuana permit?
- The State of Michigan fee for registration and renewal of cards is $60 for a two year certification. Caregivers are required to pay $25 processing fee for a required criminal background check. Fee to the State of Michigan must be paid by check, money order, or cashier’s check.
- Advanced Medical Associates charges a $150 fee at the time of the physician visit and for the review and certification process. Renewal Certification is $100. The fee to the doctor must be paid by cash, money order, or credit card.